Healing Diets - Gluten-Free

Contrary to popular belief the majority of people are not sensitive to gluten. In fact only two percent of the human race can’t eat gluten. Those two percent will have been diagnosed with celiac disease. Gluten-free is designed for people who are allergic to well, gluten! Gluten is a protein which is found in rye, barley and wheat.


Unlike IBS this ailment can take years to heal from in the average adult. It is shorter for children approximately six months. So, it is no walk in the park and it takes time and dedication for those who are allergic to gluten.


The foods that can be eaten and are gluten safe are meat, fruits and vegetables, bread and pasta labelled “gluten-free”. Many processed foods have gluten in them and they need to be avoided. And for those adults with this sensitivity alcohol is off the table as well as it contains gluten.


Foods and items that have gluten that should be avoided? Toothpaste (who knew) watch for the type of toothpaste and ingredients you use. Some cosmetics have gluten, postage stamps (don’t be licking these), some vitamins (always choose gluten free when picking vitamins otherwise you’ll react to them) ice cream, salad dressing, ketchup, chocolate bars and canned meats.


Gluten can be found in an array of places, so it can be tricky for those who suffer from this ailment and a lot of research into products has to be done to avoid symptoms. The upfront work is heavy, but it’s worth it to live a pain free life.


To conclude this ailment is slightly different as it is a sensitivity to a protein that is found everywhere. Living gluten-free has gotten easier however and most grocery stores have gluten-free options these days to choose from. Be wary of toothpaste and cosmetics and always check and ask about gluten if this is something that you suffer from.


Hope this helps,


Robyn

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All